The Great Yard Corn Experiment Continues.

Posted on Updated on

The business of corn, grass, birds and compost.

I decided after years of failed attempts I decided that I was going to get serious and finally grow some corn. This spring I dug almost 100 holes in my front yard I filled half of them with premium garden soil, and the other half with store-bought compost. I then chose and planted two different types of corn, Shoepeg and Golden Bantam. That was roughly a month ago and I have learned a whole lot about growing corn in the front yard since.

It is exciting to see it grow!
It is exciting to see it grow!
Shoepeg corn.
Shoepeg corn.

First, there is grass to contend with. I decided to cut my grass short and maintain it throughout the season. This experiment would have been easier to maintain if I had laid down landscape fabric prior to digging holes and planting corn, you live and you learn! Otherwise it is very important to keep the grass short between the corn plants so that they have space to grow and breathe. Pulling this quantity of grass can be hard on your back and forearms but in all fairness it is a muscle building exercise. At least that is what I keep telling myself.

Secondly, birds really like corn kernels. It was interesting to me that the birds did not bother the corn kernels in the premium garden soil (Shoepeg) however they ate about half of Golden Bantam seeds that were planted in store-bought compost. While this was frustrating it did encourage me to place fencing around my corn to protect it not only from birds but also from deer or other animals. Yes, the yard corn area is fenced and flashy.

The fence hides well but the streamers and pie pans stick out.
Yard Corn with fencing, pie pans and streamers.
Yard Corn with fencing, pie pans and streamers.

Possibly the most important part of growing anything is the soil that you use. Here in Virginia we have this fantastic, sticky, hard packed red clay. While red clay does not hold much in the way of nutrients it is fairly simple to amend your soil with compost, premium garden soil or even topsoil. For the yard corn experiment I dug small holes and filled them with two different kinds of soil. The bag of organic premium garden soil that I used was bought at a garden specialty store for $16. The organic compost came from a big box store and cost six dollars. Guess which one is growing bigger, healthier and all around better corn? Yes, the $16 soil wins, hands down.

There is no need to run out and spend your fortune on dirt. You can compost household waste such as coffee grounds, egg shells, the ends of your fruits and veggies as well as outdoor waste such as garden plants that do not make it, grass clippings and leaves. While composting does take time it does not necessarily require any special equipment. You can choose an out-of-the-way spot near your garden and start making a pile. When choosing your spot keep these things in mind.

  1. Compost piles will grow grass and other plants.
  2. Compost piles will attract bugs and worms and sometimes bees.
  3. The best part of a compost pile is always on the bottom (that is where the good dirt falls) so be sure to turn over your compost pile often.

Also sticks do not compost very well, put them in a different pile.

These are the lessons I have learned from my yard corn experiment, thus far. It is important to use good soil and good seed. Watering is very important but it will also encourage the grass in your yard to grow. Landscape fabric would have been a good idea. Birds really like corn, having protections in place from day one would have saved me seed and time. While growing corn in my front yard is challenging, I really am enjoying this experiment and I hope to eventually be enjoying some of the corn.

3 thoughts on “The Great Yard Corn Experiment Continues.

    mrjonmoore said:
    May 29, 2015 at 4:49 am

    I love this, there is something magical about corn. It takes my breath away every Spring!

    Liked by 1 person

      diniwlf responded:
      May 29, 2015 at 5:03 am

      Corn reminds me of my grandparents. 🙂 In all fairness most gardening (and vegetables) remind me of them. My parents had a garden too but Granddaddy had a way of getting free labor from us grandkids. We all had so much fun though.

      Liked by 1 person

    […] Source: The Great Yard Corn Experiment Continues. « Organic Gardening Made Easy […]

    Like

Leave a comment